Latest Mission updates

Vega June 17, 2020

Launch postponement for Flight VV16 due to weather conditions at the Spaceport

Unfavorable high-altitude wind conditions over the Guiana Space Center has led to a decision that the final preparation phase for Arianespace’s Flight VV16 with Vega could not be initiated as planned today.

Therefore, tomorrow’s scheduled liftoff from French Guiana has been postponed.

Depending on suitable weather conditions, the soonest possible launch date for this Small Spacecraft Mission Service (SSMS) Proof of Concept flight – to be performed at the service of 21 customers – is Saturday, June 20, at the following precise liftoff timing:

  • 9:51:10 p.m., Washington, D.C. time,
  • 10:51:10 p.m., Kourou, French Guiana time,
  • 01:51:10, Universal Time (UTC), on June 20,
  • 03:51:10 a.m., Paris and Rome time, on June 20.

The Vega launch vehicle and its 53 spacecraft payloads are in stable and safe conditions.

 

More details are available in the VV16 launch kit:

Vega Flight VV16
PDF / 754 KB
Vega June 15, 2020

The Vega launcher is integrated for Arianespace’s first rideshare mission

Read more
Tune in on arianespace.com close