Latest Press releases

Vega August 20, 2018

Flight VV12: Vega – Aeolus: 24-hour postponement

The Launch Readiness Review (LRR) took place on Monday, August 20, 2018 in Kourou, French Guiana for Arianespace Flight VV12, and both the Vega launcher and the Aeolus satellite were declared ready for launch.

However, because of unfavorable weather conditions over the Guiana Space Center at Kourou, the final countdown operations for Flight VV12 – originally planned for Tuesday, August 21, 2018 – have been postponed.

The new planned launch date and time for the European Space Agency’s Aeolus satellite is now August 22, 2018 at precisely:

  • 05:20:09 p.m., Washington D.C. time
  • 06:20:09 p.m., local time in French Guiana
  • 21:20:09, Universal Time (UTC)
  • 11:20:09 p.m., Paris time.

Both the Vega launcher and the Aeolus satellite are in stabilized configuration and under fully secure conditions.

Lancement VV12 : VEGA – AEOLUS
PDF / 22 KB
Vega August 14, 2018

Flight VV12: The Arianespace Vega launcher will orbit ESA’s Aeolus wind mission

Read more
Tune in on arianespace.com close