Latest Press releases

Ariane 5 October 4, 2016

Flight VA231 – Sky Muster™ II and GSAT-18: Delayed 24 hours due to weather conditions

Due to the unfavorable weather conditions currently observed over the Guiana Space Center in Kourou, Arianespace has decided to delay the launch – planned for October 4, 2016 – by 24 hours.

Flight VA231 will place into geostationary transfer orbit the Sky MusterTM II and GSAT-18 telecommunications satellites.

As the weather forecast for tomorrow is favorable, the liftoff of the Ariane 5 is now planned for Wednesday, October 5, 2016, as early as possible within the following launch window:

  • Between 05:30 p.m. and 06:45 p.m., Kourou time
  • Between 04:30 p.m. and 05:45 p.m., Washington D.C. time
  • Between 20:30 and 21:45, Universal Time (UTC)
  • Between 10:30 p.m. and 11:45 p.m., Paris time
  • Between 02:00 a.m. and 03:15 a.m., Bangalore, India time on October 6
  • Between 07:30 a.m. and 08:45 a.m., Sydney, Australia time on October 6.

The launcher, with its Sky MusterTM II and GSAT-18 satellite payloads, remains in a safe standby condition.

LANCEMENT VA231 - Sky MusterTM II et GSAT-18 : REPORT DE 24 HEURES EN RAISON DE LA METEO
PDF / 118 KB
keywords:
Ariane 5 September 28, 2016

Arianespace to launch satellites for Australia and India with Ariane 5

Read more
Tune in on arianespace.com close