Latest Press releases

Ariane 5 June 17, 2016

Flight VA230 – EchoStar XVIII and BRIsat: Delayed 24-hours due to weather conditions

Due to unfavorable weather conditions over the Guiana Space Center in Kourou, Arianespace has decided to delay the launch – planned for June 17, 2016 – by 24 hours. Flight VA230 will place into geostationary transfer orbit the EchoStar XVIII and BRIsat telecommunications satellites.

Liftoff of the Ariane 5 is now planned for Saturday, June 18, 2016, as early as possible within the following launch window:

  • from 5:30 p.m. to 6:40 p.m., local time in French Guiana,
  • from 4:30 p.m. to 5:40 p.m., in Washington, D.C,
  • from 20:30 to 21:40, UTC,
  • from 10:30 p.m. to 11:40 p.m., in Paris, France.

The launcher, with its EchoStar XVIII and BRIsat satellite payloads, remains in a safe standby condition.

Lancement VA230 - EchoStar XVIII et BRIsat : report de 24 heures en raison de la meteo
PDF / 202 KB
Ariane 5 June 15, 2016

Flight VA230 – EchoStar XVIII and BRIsat: 24-hour delay

Read more
Tune in on arianespace.com close