Latest Press releases

Ariane 5 June 15, 2016

Flight VA230 – EchoStar XVIII and BRIsat: 24-hour delay

During operations to transfer the Ariane 5 ECA launcher for Flight VA230, an anomaly occurred with an umbilical connection on the upper portion of the launcher.

As a result, Arianespace has decided to delay the launch – planned for June 16, 2016 – by 24 hours in order to replace this equipment and perform the necessary verifications.

Liftoff of the Ariane 5 is now planned for Friday, June 17, 2016, as early as possible within the following launch window:

  • from 5:30 p.m. to 6:40 p.m., local time in French Guiana,
  • from 4:30 p.m. to 5:40 p.m., in Washington, D.C,
  • from 20:30 to 21:40, UTC,
  • from 10:30 p.m. to 11:40 p.m., in Paris, France.

The launcher, with its EchoStar XVIII and BRIsat satellite payloads, remains in a safe standby condition.

lancement va230 - echostar xviii et brisat : report de 24 heures
PDF / 215 KB
Ariane 5 June 8, 2016

Flight VA230 – EchoStar XVIII and BRIsat: New targeted date for launch: June 16, 2016

Read more
Tune in on arianespace.com close