Latest Press releases

Ariane 5 September 21, 2017

Arianespace Flight VA239: new launch date announced

During the original synchronized sequence of the final countdown, on Tuesday, September 5, 2017, an anomaly was observed with an electrical equipment in one of the Ariane 5 launcher’s two solid-propellants boosters (EAP).

After identifying and replacing the electrical equipment, and having undertaken all the related checks, Arianespace has decided to resume the operations leading to the final countdown for Flight VA239.

This mission’s liftoff is now planned on Friday, September 29, 2017 as early as possible within the following launch window:

  • between 5:47 p.m. and 6:25 p.m., Washington, D.C. time
  • between 6:47 p.m. and 7:25 p.m., in Kourou, French Guiana
  • between 21:47 and 22:25, Universal Time (UTC)
  • between 11:47 p.m. and 00:25 a.m., Paris time during the night of Sept. 29 to 30
  • between 6:47 a.m. and 7:25 a.m., Tokyo time on September 30.

This mission will orbit Intelsat 37e for the international operator Intelsat, and BSAT-4a for the manufacturer SSL (Space Systems Loral), within the scope of a turnkey contract with the Japanese operator Broadcasting Satellite System Corporation (B-SAT).

Arianespace mission VA239 : nouvelle date de lancement
PDF / 89 KB
Ariane 5 September 6, 2017

Interruption of the VA239 countdown: results of preliminary analysis

Read more
Tune in on arianespace.com close